Keystone Keystone Assistive Technology

The Mission of Keystone Learning Services Assistive Technology is to collaborate with persons with disabilities and others to increase the availability and utilization of assistive technology devices and services for all individuals with disabilities.

Team Meetings

  Assisitive Technology Concerns?

Assistive Technology needs to be addressed in each IEP.

  Download: AT Flow Chart
  AT Referral & Checklist
  AT Tracker

Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC)

Here's an awesome video demonstrating the use of AAC, showcasing one of our star students!
https://www.youtube.com/shared?ci=myo8qDf_LTI

What is AAC? Augmentative and alternative communication (AAC) includes all forms of communication (other than oral speech) that are used to express thoughts, needs, wants, and ideas.

People with severe speech or language problems rely on AAC to supplement existing speech or replace speech that is not functional. Special augmentative aids, such as picture and symbol communication boards and electronic devices, are available to help people express themselves. This may increase social interaction, school performance, and feelings of self-worth.


Chrome Apps and Extensions List

Download an organized chart of Google Chrome Apps and Extensions with a title and description. List is from an Infintec webinar by Mary Bettlach titled Supporting Your Students with Chrome Tools.

Assistive Technology App Matrix

Check out this list of Apps developed by AT Specialists Diana Petschauer and Stacy Driscoll. The matrix of Apps provides educators and families with an overview of major features of available Apps addressing executive function.
Executive Function is often detected in connection with ADHD, Autism, Dyslexia, and Learning Disabilities. For students transitioning to post-secondary institutions of higher education, planning, memory and temporal organization are frequent challenges with recalling the who, what, when and where of many tasks.
This comprehensive list of apps and websites can help.


  Contact an Assistive Technology Team Member

Cindy Malone - Speech Language Pathologist - cmalone@keystonelearning.org
Kara Mitchell - Speech Language Pathologist - kmitchell@keystonelearning.org
Sue Nanninga* - Interrelated Teacher - snanning@usd343.org
Betsy Schmelzle* - Social Worker - bschmelzle@keystonelearning.org
Carol Snyder - Student Info. Systems - carols@keystonelearning.org
Stacy Diehl - Occupational Therapist - sdiehl@keystonelearning.org
Darcie Hearn - Interrelated Teacher - hearnd@mclouth.org
Heather Pedersen - Vision Services Provider - hpedersen@keystonelearning.org
Kim Wheeler - Speech Language Pathologist - kim.wheeler@usd340.org
*Autism Coordinator
Interested in AT? Your Name could be here!